OngoingWorlds blog

News & articles about play-by-post games, for roleplayers & writers


Simming Prize Winners 2011

Simming prizeOngoing Worlds is proud to announce the newest winners of the Simming Prize (officially the Ongoing Worlds Prize for Simming and Online Role Playing in Memory of Seth Cotis). Winning either for their efforts in 2011 or in recognition of their career in total, our five newest laureates join a long line of proud winners who have shaped our gaming community for the better.

  • Elena Vasilescu of Before the Mast RPG: For her creative use of social media to support a small, thriving role-playing game set during the Golden Age of Piracy.
  • Independence Fleet: For its outstanding efforts to facilitate community; internally fielding a wiki, newsletter, and group chats; and externally hosting the SciWorld Online Convention, organizing Fall Fest, and pulling the Super Space Command 3000 April fools day joke.
  • Mike Bremer of Ninth Fleet: For his exemplary leadership within the simming community. Having founded or nurtured clubs as diverse as Tango Fleet, Bravo Fleet, and now Ninth Fleet, Mike stands as one of the most successful and influential figures in the history of simming.
  • Otherspace: For its innovative mix of MUSH and role-playing to create a dynamic, engrossing gaming environment.
  • UFOP: Starbase 118: For its exemplary community, which for over 15 years has consistently offered detailed, high quality sims, and a welcoming, friendly gaming environment.

Congratulations to the newest Simming Prize laureates!