OngoingWorlds blog

News & articles about play-by-post games, for roleplayers & writers


2013 Simming Prize is now open for nominations

The Simming Prize Image by Jack Carter

The Simming Prize
Image by Jack Carter

EDIT – The winner for this award has been announced here

Please allow me to confirm the rumor…  The 2013 Simming Prize is officially open for nominations!  I recently had the opportunity to sit down with FSF Ignatius, the Prize’s administrator, and he filled me in on the details.  All simmers and online role players are permitted to submit their favorites from among the community through June 27, 2014 at the following link:

The winners will be announced at the end of July.

What is the Simming Prize?

It’s an award, silly!  Up to five Prizes are awarded annually to people, sims, clubs, or organizations who (1) exemplify service, quality, and dedication within the simming community, or who (2) pioneer new technology or techniques within the community.  It can be awarded for a specific accomplishment or for sustained superior performance over a period of time.  Winners may use the honorific Simming Prize Laureate.  Oh yeah, its official name is the The Prize for Simming and Online Role Playing in Memory of Seth Cotis.  We just call it the Simming Prize because it’s easier to say.

Who’s this Seth Cotis guy?


Seth Cotis was a simmer who passed away in 2005 due to complications from Diabetes.  The Prize was renamed in his memory shortly thereafter.  Seth is most known for being one of the founders of Starfleet Legacy Alliance (SLA).  He previously served in United Space Federation before co-founding SLA.  He also had an extensive career in the Simming League, where he served as the organization’s president for one term in 2002.  Seth is best remembered, however, for being a great guy and for being absolutely committed to the craft of simming and the greater community.  That’s why the prize is named after him.

How old is the Simming Prize?

It was first award for 1999.  Since then 66 prizes have been awarded through 60 citations to 58 different entities.  Of the 66, 34 were people, 17 were clubs, 7 were organizations, 4 were sims, and still 4 more don’t fit neatly into any of those categories.  Previous winners can be found here.  The Prize has been known under other names (the Simming League Prize for Simming and Online Role Playing, the Ongoing Worlds Prize for Simming and Online Role Playing, and the SimEnc Prize for Simming and Online Role Playing to name a few) when different organizations ran the award.  Now, it’s managed by five trustees.

Who are the trustees?

The current trustees of the Simming Prize are Azanialix Ja’arda, FSF Titan, Elena Vasilescu, Mike Bremer, and Wesley Davis.  They will take the nominations, discuss the merits of each, and determine who this year’s winners are.  Each trustee serves as long as they wish or are able.  If a trustee no longer desires to be a part of the Simming Prize, he or she may appoint a replacement.  If a trustee is unable to serve, the other trustees will select a replacement.  FSF Ignatius serves as the Simming Prize Administrator.  He takes all of the nominations and organizes them for the trustees… among other responsibilities.

Why is it the 2013 award when it’s 2014?

The Simming Prize is usually awarded early in the year for the previous calendar year.  It’s just happening a little later than normal this year.  Nothing more to read into it than that.

Why does this Simming Prize thing matter?

As far as I know, the Simming Prize is the oldest community-wide award still in existence today.  There are few honors that match the prestige and tradition of the Simming Prize.  That is unlikely to change for a long time.  We build up the entire community when we recognize the top with awards like the Simming Prize.

Do you know someone (or something) who’s done something great for simming?  It could be for something they did in 2013 or before.  Maybe they run the best sim you’ve ever seen.  Maybe they’ve written some outstanding articles about simming.  Or maybe it’s the club you’re a member of and you couldn’t imagine simming anywhere else.  Nominate them all!  Let the rest of the community know about all the great things they’re doing.  Let’s honor the best!  I know can’t wait to see who this year’s winners are.  It’s be a great group no doubt.

Questions can be sent to FSF Ignatius at FSFIgnatius [at] simming [dot] net