OngoingWorlds blog

News & articles about play-by-post games, for roleplayers & writers


2022 Simulation Cup Results… Finally!

Image by Malkfan

What a tournament! A record of 88 fantastic entrants led to another record of 36 awards to be conferred below. Before we get to those, however, you might remember that we’re running this Tournament of Simulations (ToS) under the Simulation Cup banner to honor the 2012 and 2014 tournaments.

Naming conventions aside, this competition has been one for the ages, easily blowing away last year’s records of 70 entrants with 26 winners. The participation and excellence displayed is a true testament to the ongoing strength of the simming and online role playing community, regardless of what others might say.

As I say every year, evaluating sims is a subjective art, and this is certainly true with ToS.  We’re not here to identify the best games as this is impossible.  Instead, we’re here to identify what we think are outstanding sims that exude excellence.  A different set of judges might very well chose a completely different set of winners.  And that’s okay! If you’re interested, this is how we select the winners. With that on the record once again, here are your 2022 Simulation Cup winners:



Congratulations to our Simulation Cup winners! Well done! Believe me when I say that there were some really, really good entrants that didn’t make the winners circle this round. For that reason, I’d like to personally thank everyone who took the time to enter their games in the competition: Thank you for providing a fantastic role playing experience for your players–that was more than evident in ALL of the entries. And that’s really what it’s all about. The individual grade sheets have been emailed to each sim’s respective representative.

I would also like to acknowledge our amazing panel of judges: Amanda Rose, Ametheliana, April Grant, Chachi Riker, Gregory, Hadir Prenar, Jeff, Joseph Carroll, Ken Gillis, Matthew Desmond, Mike Bremer, Nikki, Nugra, Raz, Rellek, Solomon, StarDuster, TheDoctor, Willvoy, WinteroaK, and WizardBeard. All 21 of them were outstanding professionals from start to finish. They volunteered hours of their time to serve the simming and online role playing community, and I can’t thank them enough for the wonderful job they did!


While we’re on the subject of judging, Hadir Prenar, Nugra, TheDoctor, Willvoy, WitneroaK, and WizardBeard are hereby awarded the Ongoing Worlds Community Honor (OWCH) for serving as a judge in three Tournament of Simulations (second ToS OWCH for Nugra).  They have volunteered hours of their time to serve in this capacity.  Their selflessness and volunteer attitude are an example for us all to follow.  Without these six and others like them, we simply wouldn’t be able to hold major events like the Tournament of Simulations. Thank you!

A few statistical notes…

  • This is the 12th year in a row that a tournament was held (2011-2022). Six tournaments were held 1999-2007. No tournaments were held 2008-2010.  Eighteen total tournaments have been held to date.
  • A record 36 awards were bestowed this year, breaking the mark of 26 set in 2007 and matched last year. 267 total awards have now been conferred dating back to 1999.
  • Seven clubs brought home multiple awards this year: Independence Fleet (7), Sim Central (6), Theta Fleet (6), Obsidian Fleet (3), RPG Writing (3), Pegasus Fleet (2), and Star Army (2). Five of the seven are repeat winners from last year. The record for most awards in a single tournament is 10 (Starfleet Legacy Alliance, 2005). Starfleet Legacy Alliance also holds second place (9, 2006) and third place (8, 2007) in the category.
  • Independence Fleet (23) passes UCIP (17) for #2 on the all-time awards list while Theta Fleet (17) ties for third. Star Army (16) is next in fifth place while Bravo Fleet (13) breaks its tie with Federation Sim Fleet (12) to land in sixth place. Starfleet Legacy Alliance remains first all-time with 31 total awards.
  • Obsidian Fleet (11) and RPGWriting (10) join the seven aforementioned clubs and Phoenix Roleplaying (10) in an elite group of 10 with at least 10 all-time awards.
  • Star Army extends its record of tournaments with at least one win to 10. UCIP is second place with wins in eight tournaments.
  • Simming Imperium picked up their first win this year. Fifteen of the 18 tournaments have seen at least one club win their first award.  The three exceptions are 2001, 2013, and 2017.
  • Four independent sims won this year, down from the record of 11 set last year. Independent sims were shutout in five tournaments (1999, 2001, 2002, 2005, 2020).
  • The following simulations that placed this year have won multiple awards:

All results are final and are not subject to appeal.  Look for the 2023 tournament to begin very soon.  Until then, continue all the incredible role playing!

How Does the Tournament of Simulations (ToS) Work?

Past winners: 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018 | 2019 | 2020 | 2021